Thanksgiving Break: Day 3

Thanksgiving is a national holiday mostly celebrated in the United States and Canada as a day of giving thanks for the blessing of the harvest and of the preceding year. It is celebrated on the fourth Thursday of November in the United States. Thanksgiving has its historical roots in religious and cultural traditions.
We don’t celebrate Thanksgiving in the UK so this was my first one here in St Paul, Minnesota. My friend has an big annual Thanksgiving meal with her family & i was kindly invited to spend it with them on thursday. I was nervous to meet all her family but they were so loving & welcoming & they even sung me their family theme song… “We welcome you to Dawsonville…” It was so cute!
There was about 30 people that attended the meal so as you can imagine there was a whole lot of food. Soul food. It was so good & there was a lot of things i’ve never heard of, but as i am, i had to try a bit of everything.

20131201-024437.jpg

20131201-024449.jpg
After the food we moved onto talking & games. It was so funny when some of the family tried to imitate the British accent, but it was better than other ‘British’ accents I’ve heard. We played cheat (screw) your neighbour, which is similar to the UK card game called cheat. The aim of the game is to have the lowest value card. I didn’t have beginners luck, & we were playing with quarters, so i lost mine 😦 note to self l, don’t gamble! After spending the afternoon with my friends family my cheeks hurt so much from all the laughing and smiling!
Everyone was so lovely to me & said that i was part of the family & whenever i come back to America i have a home 🙂 This was a wonderful first Thanksgiving experience, i’m so glad i got to spend it with such lovely people. I have so much to be thankful for! God has blessed me with a wonderful family, amazing friends & opportunities i could never imagine would happen! I am so thankful i got a chance to come to the US & meet so many amazing people! Thank you to my friend Danyal & family for welcoming me into your home this holiday.

20131201-030807.jpg

20131201-030817.jpg

20131201-030836.jpg

20131201-030844.jpg

20131201-030851.jpg

20131201-031000.jpg
Happy Thanksgiving x

Leave a Reply

