All good things come to an end.

Rewind…! I am finally catching up with my blog; I thought I would start off with rounding up the last few weeks I had at CSBSJU (which were amazing if I might add).

December was a very busy month as we wanted to fit in so many things before we left. We had a chance to watch the Minnesota Vikings vs Washington Redskins game at the Mall of America Target Field, the atmosphere of being in such a huge stadium and the buzz from the crowd was imense!

IMG_2822

IMG_2843

IMG_2868

In my halls of residence we had a “culture night” where we had to make a small something from our culture, I ended up making banoffee pie. It wasn’t the same as how you would make it in the UK, but I had to make do with the ingredients I found in the supermarket. We also did some arts and crafts that night, which I thought was really lovely just chilling and creating.

I cheated a little and bought a ready made base ( I couldn’t find digestive biscuits). Then added toffee/caramel sauce, cool whip, bananas and chocolate chips. Lastly put it in the fridge to set.

We made melted crayon art and I added one of my favourite quotes to it: “Life begins at the end of your comfort zone”. I felt extra creative and painted “Gye Nyame” which is a traditional Ghanaian symbol meaning “Except for God”. It represents the omnipotence and omnipresence of God.

We took pictures by the lake, saw Santa and got piercings!

I also went to my first roller disco, tried eggnog for the first time and went to see the Saint Cloud State vs Union College ice hockey game.

IMG_1054

IMG_0827

I also performed at two events with my lovely friend Rie. We sang an acapella version of ‘Last Christmas’ and I had my last dance performance with Element at the Archipelago Winter Gala and sang ‘Footprints in the sand’ at the farewell dinner for the exchange students. As my friends and family know it takes A LOT to get me singing in front of people, let alone singing on stage in front of a crowd! I also had a cold at the time of both performances, but I thought to myself I’m not here for much longer, I told myself to step out of my comfort zone and my friend wanted someone to sing with, so in the end I plucked up the courage and did it. After the performances I was shaking like crazy but it was well worth it. Everyone’s reaction and support was amazing, I was encouraged, believed in myself that little bit more and now I cherish those memories and experiences that I had at CSBSJU.

IMG_1056

When I’m feeling brave I might upload the videos of my dance and singing performances. Overall (as you can probably tell) I had the most amazing time, I tried to make the most of it and do as much as I could. I love America, the friends that I made are all so special and I wouldn’t change this experience for the world! Shout out to my Uni and parents for making it happen 🙂

To anyone thinking of doing a study abroad, I say GO FOR IT!

“Life begins at the end of your comfort zone”

 

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

